Ontario's Anesthesiologists' Distinguished Service Award

Must be an anesthesiologist who has been an Active member in good standing in the Section on Anesthesiology in the OMA for a minimum of 10 years. Provided significant service to the promotion of anesthesiology and/or its respective subspecialties in the Province of Ontario by having had an active role in:

  •  Clinical Service or Excellence
  •  Administrative and Leadership
  •  Education and Teaching
  •  Research and Scientific Work
  •  Humanitarian and Altruism

Is not a member of the current Executive or its committee(s) May be active or retired. The award will not be given posthumously.

Download a nomination form here: OA Distinguished Service Award Form

Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

CAS Career Scientist Award in Anesthesia: This award is biennial in nature and it is again available in 2015 to provide support for 2015-2016. This program provides partial salary support over two years to a qualified new investigator to fund a minimum of two days per week of protected research time.

Nominations Now Open For 2016: Download Call For Nominations Document

Gold Medal: The Gold Medal Is The Highest Award Of The Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society. It Is A Personal Award Consisting Of An Inscribed Gold Medal Given In Recognition Of Excellence In Matters Related To Anesthesia.

Clinical Teacher Award: To Recognize Excellence In The Teaching Of Clinical Anesthesia. 

Clinical Practitioner Award: To Recognize Excellence In Clinical Anesthesia Practice. 

John Bradley Young Educator Award: To Recognize Excellence And Effectiveness In Education In Anesthesia.

Emeritus Membership: To Recognize Retired Individuals Who During Their Long-Standing Practice Made A Significant Contribution To Anesthesia. 

Research Recognition Award: The Research Recognition Award Will Be Presented By The Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society To Honour A Senior Investigator Who Has Sustained Major Contributions In Anesthesia Research In Canada. The Award Will Consist Of A Framed Certificate And Will Be Presented At The Annual Meeting Of The Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society. 

Medical Student Prize: To Increase Awareness Among Undergraduate Medical Students Of The Specialty Of Anesthesia And The Role Of Anesthesiologists In Healthcare.

Grants & Scholarships

Ontario's Anesthesiologists

The OMA Section on Anesthesiology is committed to the development of leadership skills in current and future anesthesiologists.  Our leadership grant program provides funding for individuals or groups who wish to pursue formal leadership training. Details of this program as well as applications are available under the appropriate heading below.

Leadership Grant Program – Overview

Leadership Grant Program – Individual Application

Leadership Grant Program – Group Application

Leadership Grant Program – Residency Program Application

Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

Operating Grants: Operating Grants provide funding to cover the direct costs related to a single research project. In 2015, we are pleased to offer the following six operating grants of which two are in sub-specialty fields, two open awards, one grant that is designated for new investigators and one grant for individuals committed to doing research during their residency training.

New Investigator Operating Grant

Subspecialty Operating Grants 

Open Operating Grants

Residents' Research Grant

Physician Leadership Program at WOHS

PDLP Fact Sheet