Thank you for Attending our 2017 Ontario Anesthesia Meeting and Conference Weekend!

Save the Date:  Our 2018 Conference Weekend will be September 20th-23rd at the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto

The Section Executive would like to thank all attendees of the 62nd annual Ontario Anesthesia Meeting (OAM).  We were delighted that so many of you could join us for the variety of events surrounding our conference in Toronto.  The OAM would not happen without the tireless work of many.  I want to extend a warm thank you to Jennifer Csamer and Nazlene Shivcharan for doing an outstanding job of making sure the planning committee’s vision comes to life, alongside the OA Administrative and Communications Coordinator Emily Hill.  The leaders of the planning team were Dr. Greg Bosey as the overall Chair, Dr. Adriaan Van Rensburg and Dr. Ryan Smith as Academic Chairs, and Dr. Peter Cino as additional planning support. They did an outstanding job creating a rich academic program. And thanks of course to all the speakers, your generous contributions helped make our vision a reality.  As we begin to plan for next year’s OAM and continue to expand our educational and professional development opportunities, please let us know how we can best serve you, our membership, with specific suggestions for speakers and content.

The Annual General Meeting on Friday afternoon was well attended and we were pleased to have so many attend the ‘business’ component of our meeting. We are very grateful to Dr. Shawn Whatley, President of the Ontario Medical Association, for taking time out of his busy schedule and joining us to provide an update regarding topical issues which concern us all. We were also honoured to have Dr. Doug Duval, President of the CAS, Dr. Mike Sullivan from the CMPA and Dr. Fred Baxter from the Royal College address us. On Saturday morning, we were entertained and educated by two excellent speakers, Dr. Brian Kavanagh and Dr. Bert Lauwers who gave the key note Beyond the Mask presentations.

There were a variety of highlights to report at this year’s event.  Firstly, our Beyond the Mask initiative has seen great success over the last year. Our working group has launched three unique project hubs.  Our Choosing Wisely Hub served to promote, educate and disseminate the Choosing Wisely campaign’s guidelines for preoperative testing and launched the comprehensive Choosing Wisely Implementation Guide. Our Chief Hub successfully strategized and implemented a framework to target high priority items and provide on-going support for Ontario’s Anesthesiology Chiefs with our first Chief’s Resource Centre.  And the Leadership Hub organizes and identified leadership opportunities for Anesthesiologists, while actively advocating for Anesthesiologists to fill these roles. We thank the BTM working group for their remarkable work the past year and look forward to seeing new projects in 2017-2018.

The section’s vision is also to expand networking forums for our members in a friendly, comfortable environment.  This year we introduced our first annual Family Practice Anesthesiologist Luncheon and had a tremendous turnout, thanks to the planning of our FP-A executive member Dr. Paul Gill.  The executive would like to continue working closely with FP-A’s and collaborate with them to support issues unique to their line of work.   Similarly, we had another productive Chief’s Luncheon, chaired by BTM Steering Committee Members Drs. Stephen Brown and Monica Olsen. The luncheon served to update chiefs the ongoing tools in place to support their line of work and to gather feedback about their institutions.  We encourage members to put forward networking ideas and to attend these forums to better align and improve the work of our section.

Our 2018 conference dates are September 20th-23rd, back in Toronto at the Westin Harbour Castle.  Please hold the date!  We have already begun working on another program which we hope will continue to meet the outstanding caliber of educational opportunity we have now come to expect from the OAM

For any additional questions regarding registration or sponsorship, please email the OA Administrative Coordinator, Emily Hill, at

Thank you to our 2017 OAM Planning Committee...

GregBosey copy.png

Dr. Greg Bosey- Conference Chair


Dr. Ryan Smith-Academic Chair


Dr. Adriaan Van Rensburg- Academic Chair


Dr. Peter Cino- Planning Support


Dr. Christopher Harle- Planning Support